University Maharaja College, Jaipur

University Maharaja College was established in 1844 by Sawai Ram Singh as "Maharaja School", and it was located at Manak Chowk, close to Hawamahal. Education was mainly imparted in Hindi, Persian, English, Sanskrit, and Urdu to 40 students. Pandit Sheo Deen joined this school as its first Principal and continued till 1855. The college grew rapidly and in 1852 it was splited to create a Sanskrit college under Sh. Haridas Shastri. After Pandit Sheo Deen, Munshi Kishan Swaroop Mukharji joined this school in 1865 as Head Master. Janab Mir Murad Ali was the teacher of Persian, Sh. Bal Mukund Shastri was the teacher of Sanskrit and Sh. Makhan Lal was the Hindi teacher during this period. After Master Kanti Chandra Mukharjee becomes Head Master in the year 1873, this college was raised to International level and got affiliated to Calcutta University. By 1875 the number of students reached 800 and it continued to flourish. It was later affiliated to Allahabad University in 1890 for B.A. degree and was raised to post graduate status in 1896. Lord Northbrook award was instituted after Lord Northbrook visited the school while Mewar Gold Medal was initiated to commemorate the visit of Maharana Fatah Singh.

As per information provided by Sh. Siya Sharan, President of Jaipur Foundation, a function was organized in the old building of this college on 10th April 1908 to honour Maharaja Madho Singh(Second) who was conferred honourary LLD degree by the Edimburgh University, Mr. A.G.G. Kalvin honoured the maharaja in this function. Post Graduate courses in History, Philosophy and Mathematics were introduced in 1927. The college was shifted to the present building in 1933, constructed at the cost of Rs. 8.5 Lacs at that time. The foundation stone can still be seen in the premises of this college. Commerce was introduce in the curriculum in 1940 and Faculty of Law was set up in 1947. The college then became a constituent college of University of Rajasthan in 1962. This college was imparting education to both boys and girls till the establishment of Maharani College for girls in 1944. Thereafter only boys are getting education in this college. Eminent Sanskrit Scholar, Bhatt Mathura Das Shastri appreciated this college in his words "Highly qualified scholars and teachers teach in this ever clean and beautiful building. Science labs in this college are well equipped." Till the establishment of Sawai Man Singh Stadium, the play grounds of this college witnessed several international sport events including the cricket match played by MCC in 1961 where Mr. Salim Durrani was the main attraction.

The college has a historical visitor's book that includes details and comments of dignitaries who visited this college between 1870 and 1929, including Dr. W. Landau (1880), E. Vredenburg, Curator GSI (1903), Albert Lfarwell (1905), Maharaja of Bikaner Sh. Ganga Singh (1915) and Prof. Meghnath Saha (1926). Some of the prominent Alumni of this college are Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, former Vice President of India, Mrs. Vimla Sharma (wife of Former President of India Shri Shankar Dayal Sharma), Shri L.M. Singhvi, former High Commissioner of India in UK., Pt. Newal Kishor Sharma, former Governor of Gujarat Justice N.L. Tibrewala, former Governor of Rajasthan, some former and sitting Members of Parliament, Member of Legislative Assembly, such as Sh. R.D. Agrawal, Late Ah. G.L. Bhargava, Sh. Shastri Dhariwal, Dr. Chandra Bhan, Sh. Jitendra Singh, Sh. Taquiuddin Abrued, Prof. Y. Alagh, Sh. Ashok Pernami and Sh. K.C. Saraf. The list continues to include well known radio commentator Sh. Jasdev Singh, National Level sport personalities including Sh. Karni Singh Rathore (Shooting), Sh. Hemendra Surana (cricket), Sh. Hanuman Singh (Basketball), Former Chief Secretary of Rajasthan Sh. M.L. Mehta, Former Director General of Police Sh. Amitabh Gupta, Sh. K.L. Jain. Chairman Jaipur Stock Exchange. Eminent scholars and doctors including Prof. B.L. Saraf, Prof. Rameshwar Sharma(Ex. V.C. University of Rajasthan), Prof. K.L. Kamal(Ex. V.C. University of Rajasthan), Dr. N. Dwivedi(SMS Medical College), Dr. Shive Harsh (Cardiologist ,North Carolina ),Dr. D.S. Haldiya (Gastroenterolgist,New York ), Dr.Samin K Sharma(Cardiologist at New York who holds the American record for the highest number of complex coronary interventions performed annually) and many other also got education from this oldest college of Rajasthan.

Freedom Fighter Late Shri Bihari Lal Agrawal, a student of this college during 1939, actively participated in the Prajamandal Andolan . His forty five days dharna at the college gate was noticed and reported by international newspaper including New York Times. Mr. Anurag jain, student of this college during 1991-94, received the best N.C.C. cadet award from the former Prime Minister Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao in January 1993. Two of our alumni Prof. Ashok Kumar and Prof. P.C. Trivedi have worked as Vice Chancellors of University in Kanpur and Gorakhpur while another alumni Prof. P.S. Verma has worked as chairman, Board of Secondary Education, Rajasthan.

In addition to imparting education in all the science subjects the college also offers self-financed BCA course. The college was granted status of "College with potential for Excellence" by the UGC in 2011. More then 2500 Students are currently enrolled in this college. The college has its own boy's hostel with a capacity of 200 students. It has a well furnished library with more than one lac books and magazines. It has sports facilities including three volleyball courts, two tennis courts and one basketball court, gymnasium and facilities for indoor sports. Four units of NSS and two units of NCC are working at this college. The college has attracted several multinational companies including IBM Daksh, Wipro, TCS, Accenture etc, who organized placement camps at this college.

The college has celebrated its 173 rd Foundation Day in 2017. Another landmark activity was the organization of a three day Inter-College Cultural Fest, 'AQUAREGIA' (17-02-2018 to 19-02-2018), a three day event, which attracted participants from several institutions for various events. In addition, it was another year of excellence in extracurricular activities and the students won many trophies in various cultural and sports events held within the State and at the National level.